Martha Steketee Is New Leader For American Theatre Critics Association


NEW YORK — Martha Wade Steketee, a freelance writer for HowlRound, Dramatics magazine and TDF Stages, is the new chairman of the executive board of the American Theatre Critics Association, the only nationwide professional association of theater critics in the United States.

Also elected were Frank Rizzo, a freelance writer for Variety and Connecticut magazine as vice president of the organization and Robert Sokol, a freelance writer for the San Francisco Examiner and San Francisco magazine, as secretary-treasurer.

Steketee, a New York-based writer succeeds William Hirschman, who writes for Hirschman served as president of the 250-member, 45-year-old organization for the past four years.

Steketee, who heads the nominating committee for the Drama Desk, is the first woman to head the organization in 20 years. She has also sersved on the boards of Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas and the League of Professional Theatre Women.

The organization will hold its 2019 conference at the National Black Theatre Festival in Winston-Salem, N.C. in late July and a New York conference in early November.